Thoughts of the Day – June 5: Surround Yourself With Goodness

Hellooooo, friends, and Happy Thursday-Almost-Friday!

Today I continued to read the book “The Miracle Morning.” It talks a lot about visualization, in fact visualization is one of the 6 steps of a “miracle morning.” It got me thinking about the idea of surrounding yourself with images and inspiration in order to meet success. It got me thinking about how I tend to be very happy and sure things will always work out. Well, over the years, as long as I can remember, I have collected quotes and images that made me feel faith and hope and happiness. Without even realizing it at first, I gave myself (well, God gave me the gift) the key to my own fulfillment and success. I surrounded myself (literally, look at my room), with positivity. My favorite songs are the ones that give that feeling of utter abandon, of dancing in streets, or bursting into tears over a love for humanity.

I am a fortunate person, but I didn’t have to be. I could be a lot more negative, a lot more messed up than I am. I have my fair share of troubles. I have been broken down with fear and worry, with heartbreak in places one shouldn’t find it. But I was given the grace to collect and display good things in my world. And that lead to positivity that I can’t help. I really can’t help it. I know, you hate me.

When I think about the good things in my life, the good things I have accomplished (beyond good grades), I think about how unlike me they are. I started off as a shy follower, someone who didn’t believe in her ability to do much besides have book smarts. Yet I made some crazy, by my standards, decisions and actions that directly led to my successes in life. Running for a club board, becoming an orientation leader, sending my resume for a job I didn’t know even existed. Here I am, out of character, grateful to be where I am.

The thing is, I became a go getter. I became a person who believes she can do anything. I became motivated, confident, and friendly, albeit a little nutty. And it was because I surrounded myself with things I wanted to be, and imagined myself in places I was nowhere near yet. I wanted to be that annoying peppy orientation leader and next thing I knew, I was, and I was a good one. (If I do say so myself.)

Surround yourself with goodness. Relate to things because they pull your heart, not because they describe you now. No one is a finished work of art. Be like this little girl, on HONY, and carry your candy pumpkin, optimistic that the candy will come.

I leave you with a quote I read today that took my breath away.

Marianne Williamson quoted in The Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod
Marianne Williamson quoted in The Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod

Let that sink in. “Your playing small does not serve the world.”

Leave a Reply

