Thoughts of the Day – June 16th: The Weird Thing Summer Does to Me

My backyard in spring is lovely. Good weeds
My backyard in spring is lovely. Good weeds

A big theme in my life has always been warm weather bringing back memories. I don’t know if anyone else has this happen every year, but as soon as spring and summer hit, I am flooded with memories of every summer of my life. I don’t know what it is, but a single summer breeze could bring back a vivid feeling of being at the end of the year in second grade, or on campus at Fordham, or at any of my old internships. It’s like I am back there for a second. I wish I knew how to describe it better. It’s something in the air. Does anyone know what I am talking about?

Something interesting happened to me today. I got this feeling, going down the creepy staircase at work on my way home, of being back at this same job, but last year. In a month, it will have been 1 year of being at my job. I really can’t believe time passed this fast. It’s been a dream that has flown by. Amazing. So today I felt vividly that joy of just starting at Swift Kick, marveling at that new building, marveling at being a working adult in New York City. I never get used to these things. Every day I come into the city with new eyes, stunned that I get to be there every day.

Life is better when you are undyingly grateful for everything, and never take anything for granted.

Seriously, y’all. Never get used to life. 

There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle

-Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

