September! A Favorite Month for a Favorite Hobby

This month I wasn’t sure what to make my project, as I deliberated in my last post. I kept gravitating towards reading, given that it used to be a great love of mine, before college hit and I had textbooks to read. Plus, Kieran and I spend a lot of time in bookstores and we both are avid readers, so it made sense that I could have him help me with this project with “reading dates.” Ugh, gross, I know.

We sat and talked about what would be a good number of books for me to commit to reading this month, that would be a challenge but not impossible. We settled on 5. I then decided to assign genres to each book – classic, modern fiction, marketing/business, poetry, and a freebie. 

Then we were off to Barnes and Nobles again, and he was patient with me for a ridiculous amount of time, (2 hours?) while I bounced all over the store, picking up and putting down books, trying to decide what I wanted to buy to give myself a shiny new book to motivate my month. I finally bought two business books:

I will save Freakonomics for another month, so my business book is Godin’s All Marketers Are Liars Tell Stories.

I am still trying to decide on my fiction, poetry, classic, and freebie options. I also have to finish my current book, Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett.

I also want to work on getting my Pocket actually read, in a more organized way, and also finally totally update my Goodreads account with all the books from my Trello list so I can add it to this site.

So, in summation, this month I will:

  • Read 5 books
  • Finish my current book
  • 1 Pocket article at least a day
  • Polishing up my Goodreads account

Okay! Hopefully these goals are easier to stick to and care about than drawing. I think they will be!

And yes, I know I owe you more blog posts.

PS, my Labor day was full of working from home, chores, and getting things I’ve been meaning to do done. It feels great :D

4 thoughts on “September! A Favorite Month for a Favorite Hobby

Leave a Reply

