My Kick-Butt Christmas Shopping System

Firstly, I have to note, I started Christmas shopping in October, picking things up as I saw them. I refused to rush this year. BUT, my system will help even a last minute shopper to get organized.

My hub of operations is Trello. (I love Trello and use it for many aspects of my life.) This system is by my side all year, as gift ideas pop into my head. Don’t only think about Christmas/holiday/birthday shopping during the season of said event. Always keep your mind open to ideas! This makes it easier when a big date does come around, because you don’t have to scramble to have an idea last minute, because you probably already had one and wrote it down. Plus, this helps you pay more attention to those that you love, in a much less stressful environment.

Here are the steps to set up your own Gift Shopping System using Trello. You are probably going to develop this into a system that is more specific to your needs and preferences as you use it, but I think mine will help you get started.

    1. Create a board in Trello called “Gifts.”  I made this board green, because it’s a Christmas color, obviously.

      click to see larger
    2. Make the following card decks. (I don’t think they are called decks but that’s what I am calling them.) These are where you move the cards around (for cards, see next step) to help you see what tasks you need to do.
      • Future reference – this is where you store cards by default, so you can jot down ideas for each person throughout the year
      • Soon – if a holiday or birthday is coming up, move the cards of the people you need gifts for to this deck.
      • In Progress – This is for gifts that you have started working on but are not finished, particularly if you are a crafter like me.
      • Done – You have checked these off your list. You go, Glen Coco!
      • What’s Next – I use this to help me focus on a few at a time, during the Christmas season, so I don’t go nuts.

 

  1. best friend
    click to see larger

    Create cards for each person in your life. These are what you move between decks. Each card has many different functionalities.

    • Checklists – To make, to buy, what not to get, the aspects of one gift idea in particular…whatever you want!
    • Comments – Leave notes for yourself
    • Attachments – sometimes I just snap a picture of something in a store for future reference, instead of writing it down. Then I stick it in that person’s card
    • Labels – these are great for quickly understanding the status for each card when you glance at your board. Here’s how I use them:
      • Green – Gift is secured and in my possession
      • Yellow – Gift has been ordered but I am waiting on it to arrive
      • Pink – These people also have a birthday coming up around Christmas, so get them extra stuff now for their birthday.

And that’s it! This system has really helped me brainstorm and keep organized, especially around Christmas. More and more I realize that half of the stress we meet is because we are trying to remember everything we have to do. With this, I never am worried that I am forgetting someone or something.

Trello has many more abilities than the ones I talked about for this project. Check it out! No, they don’t pay me for this,  unfortunately. ;)

How do you stay organized during gift shopping? Do you have questions about my system? Comment below!

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and have a organized day!

2 thoughts on “My Kick-Butt Christmas Shopping System

Leave a Reply

