Which of my Favorite Books Should You Read Next? – Quiz

What do outer space, dystopian societies, Jane Austen, and Native American culture have in common?

Welcome to my bookshelf. Actually this barely representative of my incredibly packed book collection, which is begging to be given double the space. But, I digress.

I was struck recently by how so many of my favorite books have an orange cover, which is conveniently my favorite color. These books, with the exception of my Italian copy of Pride and Prejudice, stay displayed at the front of my bookshelf at all times. They make me happy.

I’d like to walk you through why each of these books hold a space in my heart.

Walk Two Moons, by Sharon Creech

I found this book randomly in my middle school library. Since then, I have read it more than once. I never read books more than once. But I loved this book, because it was mine. I had found it. Sharon Creech is a wonderful author. Pieces of this story, images from it, will always stay with me.

Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

I picked up this book sophomore year of high school, as my choice for a reading project. I hated it the whole way through. And then I finished it and it was the best book I had ever read. The characters are fantastic, the time period is to live for, and Elizabeth Bennett is a #bosslady. I then read this novel again in college for a class. The outcome was a paper outlining why Lydia Bennett, an annoying and wayward little sister, actually moves the story forward entirely. I am sure I got an A on it.

Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

I downloaded an ebook version of this book on a whim, and was thrown into an adventure I had never expected. It was a pretty dark time in my life, and this novel was exactly the enthralling escapism I needed for my commutes. Seriously, I may have spent my train rides crying if I didn’t have Ready Player One. It reminded me of books I had read as a middle schooler. The kind that immerse you in a story- the kind you rush through homework to get back to. I became immediately obsessed with the fact that there are people who write for adults that actually know how to weave a story.

The Martian, by Andy Weir

Unlike most bookworms, I don’t really get too emotionally invested in fiction. I rarely am “wrecked” by a novel, or desperate over characters. This book, this fantastic, spell-binding read, had me literally on the edge of my seat during my commute. I was barely holding myself together as I read the last few pages, begging Andy Weir not to hurt this main character that I felt I knew. Seriously, few books have gotten me like that since then. Even the fact that it had a lot of scientific jargon didn’t hinder my emotional response. You go, Mr. Weir. You go.

So that’s why I am passionate about these four titles. Now, it’s your turn to pick one of them up. Use this quiz to help you decide.

https://www.boombox.com/widget/quiz/fi9xdWl6emVzLzI2ODU5NA

Leave a Reply

