2016 Reflection and a Steadfast 2017

Grace and Renewal.Grace (1)

Those were my themes for 2016. I wanted 2016 to be the year I fully got myself back after a battle with depression and fear. I must say, I succeeded in learning to be joyful most of the time again. I chose grace because I knew big changes were coming my way, and I wanted to meet them with joy and poise, not anxiety. Sometimes I did just that, sometimes, not so much. But I will give myself a little grace to say that it’s ok to not be perfect. Of the two themes, I think I did better with renewal. I learned to bounce back more quickly from things that were bothering me. I learned to avoid the dreaded downward spiral. I practiced being optimistic, only allowing a few minutes of stress before I pulled myself together.
I think the best example of this is how Kieran and I matured in our relationship. He lets me get scared and cry about something that is mostly only a problem in my head. And then we talk and he helps me realize that no matter what, we will figure it out. And then I can carry on knowing it is going to be okay. I’ve learned also to say “I trust you, God,” and then to distract myself from any anxious thoughts. I’ve learned to look at scary things head on, and then say, no, you won’t pull me down with you.
Among my smaller goals, I succeeded in purposefully making more plans with friends and in writing down ideas and thoughts in a notebook I carry with me. I decided not to pursue bigger projects besides my Etsy store, which opened this year, and planning my wedding. Those were big milestones! 2016 was good to me, though the world had a tough year. I am engaged, have a new nephew, and a wonderful job with a new coworker who is a best friend. I truly couldn’t ask for more. 

So now, onto 2017.

 

I have chosen STEADFAST to be my theme of the new year.

Google defines steadfast as resolutely or dutifully firm or unwavering.”
When looking for my #oneword of 2017, I looked ahead to all the changes I will be facing. I will become a married woman. I’ll be living away from home for the first time, and living with a husband for the first time. These are HUGE changes, but I am SO VERY excited and ready to start my new life. I have known that this is what I wanted as long as I could have dreams for my future.
But such big changes will take a resolute attitude.
I want to steadfastly hold onto my faith – since marriage is a sacrament in the Catholic Church. I can’t wait to grow spiritually with Kieran.
I want to be steadfast in my marital vows to Kieran, and steadfast in my role as a wife and -gulp- a real adult person.
I want to be steadfast in the craziness that is wedding planning, and the stress that is planning the rest of my life.
I want to be steadfast in my personal goals, as well. I can’t wait to continue reading book after book, and also to build up my Etsy store into something lucrative!
Steadfast may seem like a heavy and scary word. But for me, I will be joyfully steadfast.
“…be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your toil is not in vain to the Lord.”
1 Corinthians, 15:58
“I want to be a woman who overcomes obstacles by tackling them in faith, instead of tiptoeing around them in fear.”
Renee Swope
“Have I not commanded you to be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or disouraged, for the Lord your God will be with your wherever you go. “
Joshua 1:9
“When you do everything you can do, that’s when God will step in and do what you can’t do.”
2 Corinthians 12:10
Have a blessed and beautiful 2017, my friends. I hope to be on this blog more in the year. Look out for some changes on this site!
One thought on “2016 Reflection and a Steadfast 2017

Leave a Reply

